This Light between Us by Andrew Fukuda audiobook

This Light between Us: A Novel of World War II

By Andrew Fukuda
Read by Greg Chun  and Emily Ellet

Macmillan Young Listeners 9781250192387
10.68 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781250263490

For fans of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war. “I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature. From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war. “I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature. From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The novel is grounded in meticulous historical research and deals with both internment and life on the war front.” School Library Journal
“Artfully conveys Alex’s inner turmoil and paints visceral combat scenes…[a] fascinating tale.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrators Greg Chun and Emily Ellet tell a heartbreaking story of two pen pals during WWII. Chun narrates as Alex, a Japanese–American boy forced to live in an internment camp. Ellet narrates as Charlie, a French–Jewish girl who is running for her life…Chun also shines in the third-person perspective when the story follows Alex from Washington state to the camp and then into war. Accents change seamlessly, and both narrators bring the listener into the action. Be prepared to binge on this audiobook.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Andrew Fukuda

Author Bio: Andrew Fukuda

Andrew Fukuda was born in New York City and raised in Hong Kong. He earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Cornell University and worked as a criminal prosecutor for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. His experience volunteering with the immigrant teen community in Manhattan’s Chinatown led to the writing of Crossing, his debut novel that was selected by ALA Booklist as an Editor’s Choice, Top Ten First Novel, and Top Ten Crime Novel.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 10.68
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English