Ice by Ice-T audiobook

Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption—from South Central to Hollywood

By Ice-T and Douglas Century
Read by Mirron Willis

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9780345523280
7.55 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $16.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470800710

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482133028

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441775382

For readers of Sister Souljah’s No Disrespect, Nathan McCall’s Makes Me Wanna Holler, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Monster by Sanyika Shakur comes the definitive memoir from Ice-T, the acclaimed rapper and actor known for telling it like it is. He’s a hip-hop icon credited with single-handedly creating gangsta rap. Television viewers know him as Detective Odafin “Fin” Tutuola on the top-rated drama Law & Order: SVU. But where the hype and the headlines end, the real story of Ice-T—the one few of his millions of fans have ever heard—truly begins. Ice is Ice-T in his own words—raw, uncensored, and unafraid to speak his mind. He talks about his orphan upbringing on the gang-infested streets of South Central, his four-year stint in the US Army, his successful career as a hustler and thief, and his fateful decision to turn away from a life of crime and forge his own path to international stardom. Along the way, Ice shares never-before-told stories about friends such as Tupac, Dick Wolf, Chris Rock, and Flavor Flav, among others. He also offers up candid observations on marriage and monogamy, the current state of hip-hop, and his latest passion: mentoring at-risk youths around the country. With insights into the cutthroat world of the street—and the cutthroat world of Hollywood—Ice is the unforgettable story of a true American original.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Booklist Top 10 Black History Nonfiction 2012

For readers of Sister Souljah’s No Disrespect, Nathan McCall’s Makes Me Wanna Holler, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and Monster by Sanyika Shakur comes the definitive memoir from Ice-T, the acclaimed rapper and actor known for telling it like it is.

He’s a hip-hop icon credited with single-handedly creating gangsta rap. Television viewers know him as Detective Odafin “Fin” Tutuola on the top-rated drama Law & Order: SVU. But where the hype and the headlines end, the real story of Ice-T—the one few of his millions of fans have ever heard—truly begins. Ice is Ice-T in his own words—raw, uncensored, and unafraid to speak his mind. He talks about his orphan upbringing on the gang-infested streets of South Central, his four-year stint in the US Army, his successful career as a hustler and thief, and his fateful decision to turn away from a life of crime and forge his own path to international stardom. Along the way, Ice shares never-before-told stories about friends such as Tupac, Dick Wolf, Chris Rock, and Flavor Flav, among others. He also offers up candid observations on marriage and monogamy, the current state of hip-hop, and his latest passion: mentoring at-risk youths around the country.

With insights into the cutthroat world of the street—and the cutthroat world of Hollywood—Ice is the unforgettable story of a true American original.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A goes-down-easy mélange of memoir, self-help, and amateur criminology…Ultimately, Ice showcases an eminently reasonable, positively likable guy, the gangsta rapper even a parent could love.” New York Times Book Review
“In this intriguing memoir, groundbreaking rapper and actor Ice-T chronicles his rise from nomadic criminal to hip-hop star…Ice-T is a canny businessman, and he charts clearly the decisions that brought him up each step of a very treacherous ladder.” Publishers Weekly
“In this no-holds-barred memoir, Ice-T writes with refreshing, if profane, down-to-earth candor, recalling his first memories of racism, his increasingly dangerous street life, and his experiences on tour, including a funny and wild anecdote about a show in Milan. A fascinating and inspiring story about an African American orphan who beat the odds to become successful, this memoir will appeal to fans of hip-hop and popular culture.” Booklist (starred review)
“An enlightening read…For anyone interested in how street smarts are transferable to the entertainment industry.” Library Journal
“A boldly opinionated, bracingly street-tough memoir.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ice-T

Author Bio: Ice-T

Ice-T was born Tracy Marrow in New Jersey. As an only child whose parents died when he was very young, he became involved in Los Angeles gangs before spending four years in the army. He released a string of groundbreaking West Coast rap records and formed the thrash-metal band Body Count. He currently stars as Detective Fin Tutuola on Law & Order: SVU.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Douglas Century

Author Bio: Douglas Century

Douglas Century is a contributor to the New York Times bestseller by William Queen Under and Alone: The True Story of the Undercover Agent Who Infiltrated America’s Most Violent Outlaw Motorcycle Gang and coauthor with Rick Cowan of Takedown: The Fall of the Last Mafia Empire. He is the author of two critically acclaimed books, Barney Ross: The Life of a Jewish Fighter and Street Kingdom: Five Years inside the Franklin Avenue Posse. He has coauthored several highly acclaimed memoirs, including If Not Now, When?Brotherhood of Warriors; and Ice: A Memoir of Gangster Life and Redemption from South Central to Hollywood. He has written for the New York Times, the Guardian, Rolling Stone, the Village Voice, Newsday, and other publications and is a contributing editor at Tablet magazine.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Drama/Performing Arts
Runtime: 7.55
Audience: Adult
Language: English