Doing Harm by Maya Dusenbery audiobook

Doing Harm: The Truth about How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick

By Maya Dusenbery
Read by Dara Rosenberg

Blackstone Publishing 9780062470805
13.56 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538424506

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781538424513

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538424483

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538424490

In this shocking, hard-hitting exposé in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment threatens women’s lives and well-being. Editor of the award-winning site Feministing.com, Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from women across the country to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. Dusenbery reveals how conditions that disproportionately affect women, such as autoimmune diseases, chronic pain conditions, and Alzheimer’s disease, are neglected and woefully under-researched. “Contested” diseases, such as fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome, that are 70 to 80 percent female-dominated are so poorly understood that they have not yet been fully accepted as “real” conditions by the whole of the profession. Meanwhile, despite a wealth of evidence showing the impact of biological difference between the sexes in everything from drug responses to symptoms to risk factors for various diseases—even the symptoms of a heart attack—medicine continues to take a one-size-fits-all approach: that of a 155-pound white man. In addition, women are negatively impacted by the biases and stereotypes that dismiss them as “chronic complainers,” leading to long delays—often years long—to get diagnosed. The consequences are catastrophic. Offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, Doing Harm will change the way we look at health care for women.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 2019 Minnesota Book Award for Nonfiction

A New York Times Editor’s Choice

A New York Times Pick of Books of the Times: the Crisis in Women's Health

A Library Journal Best Books of the Year selection

A Bitch magazine pick of 15 Books Feminists Should Read This Month

A Library Journal Editor’s Pick of Books for Women's History Month

In this shocking, hard-hitting exposé in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment threatens women’s lives and well-being.

Editor of the award-winning site Feministing.com, Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from women across the country to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today.

Dusenbery reveals how conditions that disproportionately affect women, such as autoimmune diseases, chronic pain conditions, and Alzheimer’s disease, are neglected and woefully under-researched. “Contested” diseases, such as fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome, that are 70 to 80 percent female-dominated are so poorly understood that they have not yet been fully accepted as “real” conditions by the whole of the profession. Meanwhile, despite a wealth of evidence showing the impact of biological difference between the sexes in everything from drug responses to symptoms to risk factors for various diseases—even the symptoms of a heart attack—medicine continues to take a one-size-fits-all approach: that of a 155-pound white man.

In addition, women are negatively impacted by the biases and stereotypes that dismiss them as “chronic complainers,” leading to long delays—often years long—to get diagnosed. The consequences are catastrophic. Offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, Doing Harm will change the way we look at health care for women.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Well researched, wonderfully truculent…These new ‘doctor stories’ cut deep, especially in a moment when ‘believe women’ has become a rallying cry.” New York Times
“The medical establishment has a poor history of taking women’s health issues seriously—a history that Feministing editor Dusenbery takes on with full force in her new book.” Harpers Bazaar
“An antidote to the isolation and maddening self-doubt that this all-too-common dismissal can impose.” Ms. magazine
“Explores how biases and sexism in medicine lead to harmful outcomes for women.” Popular Science
“Explores how medicine often leaves women on the periphery of real medical advancement.” Marie Claire
“Maya Dusenbery has added immensely to the literature on women’s health.” New York Journal of Books
“Dusenbery peels back the sick layers of America’s paternal health-care system…She plays both patient and journalist, seamlessly combining history, research, and interviews into an easily digestible must-read.” Bust magazine, rating 5 out of 5 stars
“Methodically and thoroughly lays out an indictment of the medical systems that still largely discount the experiences of women both individually and collectively.” Rewire
“Through interviews with patients, doctors, and experts as well as a deep cultural analysis, Dusenbery presents a horrifying picture of what it means to be a woman who’s dismissed by her doctors.” Bitch Media
“Provides critically relevant information for the public—and for those in medicine, psychology, and the research sciences.” Greater Good Science Center
“Skillfully interweaves history, medical studies, current literature, and hard data….Backed by patient stories that range from hopeful to horrifying.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Dusenbery sheds light on autoimmune diseases, especially how they receive little funding, are often misdiagnosed, and predominantly affect women.” Library Journal (starred review)
“An organized, well-balanced combination of scientific and social research and moving personal stories.” Kirkus Reviews
Doing Harm shows what is left to be done and directs both women and men toward healing.” Gloria Steinem, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Maya Dusenbery brings new life to one of the most urgent yet under-discussed feminist issues of our time. Anyone who cares about women’s health needs to read this book.” Jessica Valenti, New York Times bestselling author
“Maya Dusenbery brings new life to one of the most urgent yet under-discussed feminist issues of our time. Anyone who cares about women’s health needs to read this book.” Jessica Valenti, author of Sex Object: A Memoir
“Maya Dusenbery’s exhaustively researched book is equal parts infuriating and energizing. No woman will see the medical establishment, and perhaps even more profound, her own body, the same way after reading it. In a just world, it would be required reading in medical schools from this day forward.” Courtney E. Martin, author of Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters
“Dusenbery challenges a new generation of women and practitioners to fight for medical equity—shining a harsh light on the sex bias that pervades every level of medicine. It’s outrageous that such malignant neglect exists more than two decades after the government acknowledged the gaps in knowledge about women’s health.” Leslie Laurence, coauthor of Outrageous Practices
“A deeply researched and very readable exploration of the systematic mistreatment of women in our medical system—and how even those with the best intentions perpetuate it. This book is an eye-opener; may it also be a call for real, sustained change.” Kate Harding, author of Asking For It

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Maya Dusenbery

Author Bio: Maya Dusenbery

Maya Dusenbery is the editorial director of the award-winning site Feministing.com and regularly addresses college audiences on feminism and online media. She was a fellow at Mother Jones magazine and has worked at the National Institute for Reproductive Health.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 13.56
Audience: Adult
Language: English