Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys audiobook

Salt to the Sea: A Novel

By Ruta Sepetys
Read by Jorjeana Marie , Will Damron , Cassandra Morris , and Michael Crouch

Listening Library
8.80 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780147525444

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for Salt to the Sea: “Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, and Michael Crouch perform mesmerizing narration worthy of Sepetys’s spectacular novel. VERDICT Libraries with even the most limited audio budgets will want to invest.” –School Library Journal, starred review “The talented narrators excel in capturing the tone of their characters…. [They] work together to create a vivid and well-rounded reading experience, [and] bring forth the truth of the wartime experience.” –Booklist, starred review “The four narrators (Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris and Michael Crouch) are superbly cast...The story’s plot and pacing translate beautifully to the audio medium.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  ♦  “Superlative…masterfully crafted…[a] powerful work of historical fiction.”—The Wall Street Journal  ♦  “[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction…she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate.”—Entertainment Weekly  ♦  "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post  ♦ “Compelling for both adult and teenage readers.”—New York Times Book Review  ♦  “Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted…brilliant.”—Shelf Awareness  ♦  "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail  ♦  “[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous…one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time.”—Salt Lake Tribune

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Audie Award Winner for Best Narration in Young Adult Novels

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016

A February 2016 LibraryReads Pick

A BookPage Top Pick of February 2016

A 2016 LibraryReads Favorites of the Favorites selection

Winner of Audie Awards, 2017

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloffthe greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for Salt to the Sea: “Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, and Michael Crouch perform mesmerizing narration worthy of Sepetys’s spectacular novel. VERDICT Libraries with even the most limited audio budgets will want to invest.” –School Library Journal, starred review “The talented narrators excel in capturing the tone of their characters…. [They] work together to create a vivid and well-rounded reading experience, [and] bring forth the truth of the wartime experience.” –Booklist, starred review “The four narrators (Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris and Michael Crouch) are superbly cast...The story’s plot and pacing translate beautifully to the audio medium.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  ♦  “Superlative…masterfully crafted…[a] powerful work of historical fiction.”—The Wall Street Journal  ♦  “[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction…she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate.”—Entertainment Weekly  ♦  "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post  ♦ “Compelling for both adult and teenage readers.”—New York Times Book Review  ♦  “Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted…brilliant.”—Shelf Awareness  ♦  "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail  ♦  “[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous…one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time.”—Salt Lake Tribune

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Brutal. Beautiful. Honest.” Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author
“Effortless, intimate storytelling…breathe[s] new life into one of the world’s most terrible and neglected tragedies.” Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author
“Lithuanian Joana, Prussian Florian, Polish Emilia, and German Alfred share their secrets in alternating chapters. While the narrators’ differing vocal qualities are a plus, they make no attempt at reproducing cultural accents, instead encouraging listeners to imagine the linguistic differences featured in the story. Rather than being a disservice to this powerful novel, the straightforward narration allows the life of each character to unfold without distraction. The heartbreaking climax will leave listeners stunned. An author’s note outlining the true story behind the fiction brings everything full circle. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“[A] knockout historical novel.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Artfully told and sensitively crafted.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered, and in turn, it tries to remember the thousands of real people its fictional characters represent.” Booklist (starred review)
“This book includes all the reasons why teens read: for knowledge, for romance, for amazing and irritating characters. This novel will break readers’ hearts and then put them back together a little more whole.” VOYA
“[The] scene setting is impeccable; the penetrating cold of the journey is palpable, and she excels at conveying the scope of the losses while giving them a human face.” Horn Book

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ruta Sepetys

Author Bio: Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. She is the award-winning author of several books of historical fiction and best known for her novel Between Shades of Gray, which was a New York Times bestseller and a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. Her work is published in over forty-five countries and thirty languages.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 8.80
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English