When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller audiobook

When You Trap a Tiger

By Tae Keller
Read by Greta Jung

Listening Library 9781524715700
7.38 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780593155455

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother. Some stories refuse to stay bottled up... When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni's Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal--return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni's health--Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice...and the courage to face a tiger. Tae Keller, the award-winning author of The Science of Breakable Things, shares a sparkling tale about the power of stories and the magic of family. Think Walk Two Moons meets Where the Mountain Meets the Moon! "If stories were written in the stars ... this wondrous tale would be one of the brightest." --Booklist, Starred Review

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother. Some stories refuse to stay bottled up... When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni's Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal--return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni's health--Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice...and the courage to face a tiger. Tae Keller, the award-winning author of The Science of Breakable Things, shares a sparkling tale about the power of stories and the magic of family. Think Walk Two Moons meets Where the Mountain Meets the Moon! "If stories were written in the stars ... this wondrous tale would be one of the brightest." --Booklist, Starred Review

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

A compassionate glimpse of mental illness accessible to a broad audience. Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Named one of the Best Books of the Year by NPR, Kirkus Reviews, and the Chicago Public Library!
A winning story full of heart and action. Booklist, starred review
Holy moly!!! This book made me feel. Colby Sharp, editor of The Creativity Project
Inspiring, emotional, and heartwarming. Melissa Savage, author of Lemons
Natalie is an engaging narrator whose struggles at home and with her peers ring true. Deborah Hopkinson, award-winning author
An ambitious and bewitching brew of Korean folklore, magical realism, and classic coming-of-age story, When You Trap a Tiger is a tender tale as unique as it is universal. Keller's writing shimmers with magic, heart, and hope. Ali Standish, author of Before I Was Ethan
An intoxicating mix of folktale, fantasy, friendship and love (and tigers!). Through a series of challenges--and also a lot of laughter--Lily (a.k.a. Lily Bean, Eggi, Little Egg) finds out what she is made of. She is a character who'll stay with me--and whom I already miss! Marie Myung-Ok Lee, author of Finding My Voice and Somebody's Daughter
Deeply moving... vulnerable and mythic storytelling in the vein of Erin Entrada Kelly and Kacen Callender. School Library Journal, starred review
A heartfelt reminder of the wonder and beauty in our everyday lives. Booklist, starred review
Keller’s (The Science of Breakable Things) #OwnVoices journey through Korean mythology begins with a fantastical quest and slowly transforms into a tale about letting go and the immortality that story can allow. Publishers Weekly, starred review
It’s a complex, satisfying story, one that foregrounds family and healing alongside a love for Korean folklore. The Bulletin, starred review
This beautiful book reminds us that, even in a world filled with stolen stars, crafty tigers, and family secrets that spring from folklore, the most powerful magic of storytelling is the story we decide to tell about ourselves. Kat Yeh, author of The Truth About Twinkie Pie
Roars to life with just a touch of magic. Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tae Keller

Author Bio: Tae Keller

Tae Keller grew up in Honolulu, Hawaii, where she wrote stories, ate spam musubis, and participated in her school’s egg drop competition. (She did not win.) After graduating from Bryn Mawr College, she moved to New York City to work in publishing, and now has a very stubborn Yorkie and a multitude of books as roommates.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.38
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English