The Taster  by V. S. Alexander audiobook

The Taster

By V. S. Alexander
Read by Carol Monda

Blackstone Publishing 9781496712271
11.97 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538426265

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $5.95

    ISBN: 9781538426272

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538426241

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538426258

Amid the turbulence of World War II, a young German woman finds a precarious haven closer to the source of danger than she ever imagined—one that will propel her through the extremes of privilege and terror under Hitler’s dictatorship. In early 1943, Magda Ritter’s parents send her to relatives in Bavaria, hoping to keep her safe from the Allied bombs strafing Berlin. Young German women are expected to do their duty—working for the Reich or marrying to produce strong, healthy children. After an interview with the civil service, Magda is assigned to the Berghof, Hitler’s mountain retreat. Only after weeks of training does she learn her assignment: she will be one of several young women tasting the Führer’s food, offering herself in sacrifice to keep him from being poisoned. Perched high in the Bavarian Alps, the Berghof seems worlds away from the realities of battle. Though terrified at first, Magda gradually becomes used to her dangerous occupation—though she knows better than to voice her misgivings about the war. But her love for a conspirator within the SS and her growing awareness of the Reich’s atrocities draw Magda into a plot that will test her wits and loyalty in a quest for safety, freedom, and, ultimately, vengeance. Vividly written and ambitious in scope, The Taster examines the harrowing moral dilemmas of war in an emotional story filled with acts of extraordinary courage.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Amid the turbulence of World War II, a young German woman finds a precarious haven closer to the source of danger than she ever imagined—one that will propel her through the extremes of privilege and terror under Hitler’s dictatorship.

In early 1943, Magda Ritter’s parents send her to relatives in Bavaria, hoping to keep her safe from the Allied bombs strafing Berlin. Young German women are expected to do their duty—working for the Reich or marrying to produce strong, healthy children. After an interview with the civil service, Magda is assigned to the Berghof, Hitler’s mountain retreat. Only after weeks of training does she learn her assignment: she will be one of several young women tasting the Führer’s food, offering herself in sacrifice to keep him from being poisoned.

Perched high in the Bavarian Alps, the Berghof seems worlds away from the realities of battle. Though terrified at first, Magda gradually becomes used to her dangerous occupation—though she knows better than to voice her misgivings about the war. But her love for a conspirator within the SS and her growing awareness of the Reich’s atrocities draw Magda into a plot that will test her wits and loyalty in a quest for safety, freedom, and, ultimately, vengeance.

Vividly written and ambitious in scope, The Taster examines the harrowing moral dilemmas of war in an emotional story filled with acts of extraordinary courage.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Monda adds an authentic German accent and accurate pronunciations to her excellent narration. Her rich alto makes the male voices particularly convincing…[and] creates a memorable listening experience.” Booklist (audio review)
“Totally gripping and credible…an impressive and engaging novel that humanizes historical events and provides the rich texture of a life meeting momentous challenges in momentous times…[Alexander] demonstrate[s] a great talent for blending recovered fact with vivid imagination.” Florida Weekly
“This well-researched novel allows readers an intimate glimpse into Hitler’s mental state, Eva Braun’s place in his life, and his war strategies…An interesting reimagining of a key moment in history.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“Alexander’s intimate writing style gives readers openings to wonder about what tough decisions they would have made in Magda’s situation…Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander.” Library Journal
“This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: V. S. Alexander

Author Bio: V. S. Alexander

V. S. Alexander is the acclaimed author of The Sculptress, The Traitor, The Irishman’s Daughter, The Magdalen Girls, and The Taster. His novels feature strong women protagonists whose lives take them on incredible journeys in settings fraught with danger and intrigue where, along the way, they learn about life, love, and themselves. He is an ardent student of history with a strong interest in music and the visual arts, and some of his writing influences include Shirley Jackson, Oscar Wilde, Daphne du Maurier, or any work by the exquisite Brontë sisters. Find him online at VSAlexander.com.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 11.97
Audience: Adult
Language: English