The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan audiobook

The Painted Girls

By Cathy Marie Buchanan
Read by Cassandra Campbell , Julia Whelan , and Danny Campbell

Blackstone Publishing 9781594486241
12.27 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470847593

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482141504

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781470847562

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781470847586

Paris, 1878. Following the death of their father fromoverwork, the three van Goethem sisters find their lives upended. Without theirfather’s wages, and with what little their mother earns as a laundressdisappearing down the absinthe bottle, eviction from their single boarding roomseems imminent. With few options for work available for a girl, bookishfourteen-year-old Marie and her younger sister Charlotte are dispatched to theParis Opera, where for a scant seven francs a week, the girls will be trainedto enter its famous ballet. Their older sister, stubborn and insolent seventeen-year-oldAntoinette, dismissed from the ballet, finds herself launched into the orbit ofÉmile Zola and the influence of his notorious naturalist masterpiece L’Assommoir—and into the arms of a young man whomay turn out to be a murderer. Marie throws herself into dance, hoping her natural gift andhard work will enable her to escape her circumstances, but the competition tobecome one of the famous étoiles at whose feet flowers are thrown nightly isfierce, and Marie is forced to turn elsewhere to make money. Cripplinglyself-conscious about her low-class appearance, she nonetheless finds herselfmodeling in the studio of Edgar Degas, where her image will forever beimmortalized in his controversial sculpture Little Dancer, Aged 14.Antoinette, meanwhile, descends lower and lower in society and mustmake the choice between honest labor as a laundress and the more profitableavenues available to a young woman in the Paris demimonde—that is unless herlove for the dangerous Émile Abadie derails her completely. Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural, andsocietal change, The Painted Girls isultimately a tale of two remarkable girls rendered uniquely vulnerable to thedarker impulses of “civilized society.” In the end, each will come to realize that her individual salvation, if not survival, lies with theother.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award

An Entertainment Weekly “Must Read”, January 2013

Selected for the January 2013 Indie Next List

A Barnes & Noble Best Book in January 2013

Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of the Week, January 2012

A Kirkus Reviews “New and Notable Title” in January 2013

One of Audible’s Best Audiobooks of 2014: Narrator of the year

Paris, 1878. Following the death of their father fromoverwork, the three van Goethem sisters find their lives upended. Without theirfather’s wages, and with what little their mother earns as a laundressdisappearing down the absinthe bottle, eviction from their single boarding roomseems imminent. With few options for work available for a girl, bookishfourteen-year-old Marie and her younger sister Charlotte are dispatched to theParis Opera, where for a scant seven francs a week, the girls will be trainedto enter its famous ballet. Their older sister, stubborn and insolent seventeen-year-oldAntoinette, dismissed from the ballet, finds herself launched into the orbit ofÉmile Zola and the influence of his notorious naturalist masterpiece L’Assommoir—and into the arms of a young man whomay turn out to be a murderer.

Marie throws herself into dance, hoping her natural gift andhard work will enable her to escape her circumstances, but the competition tobecome one of the famous étoiles at whose feet flowers are thrown nightly isfierce, and Marie is forced to turn elsewhere to make money. Cripplinglyself-conscious about her low-class appearance, she nonetheless finds herselfmodeling in the studio of Edgar Degas, where her image will forever beimmortalized in his controversial sculpture Little Dancer, Aged 14.Antoinette, meanwhile, descends lower and lower in society and mustmake the choice between honest labor as a laundress and the more profitableavenues available to a young woman in the Paris demimonde—that is unless herlove for the dangerous Émile Abadie derails her completely.

Set at a moment of profound artistic, cultural, andsocietal change, The Painted Girls isultimately a tale of two remarkable girls rendered uniquely vulnerable to thedarker impulses of “civilized society.” In the end, each will come to realize that her individual salvation, if not survival, lies with theother.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Richly imagined.” Entertainment Weekly
The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan weaves an all too human story of love and devotion with the life of women in Paris in the late 1800’s, the ballet girls, the Opera, and the art of Edgar Degas…Narration by multiple readers can often turn the audio of a novel into a dramatic presentation rather than the reading of a story. Not so in Buchanan’s The Painted Girls…Cassandra Campbell, Julia Whelan, and Danny Campbell do a fine job of using a French accent to speak the French words while reading the English clearly. This adds realism but does not impair understanding. This audio version of Buchanan’s The Painted Girls is well done and is a joy to experience.” SoundCommentary.com
“Rich…Engrossing.” Publishers Weekly
“A dark valentine to Belle Èpoque Paris.” Vogue
“Buchanan does a masterful job of interweaving historical figures into her plot, but it is the moving yet unsentimental portrait of family love, of two sisters struggling to survive with dignity, that makes this a must-read.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“The Painted Girls is historical fiction at its finest, awash in period details of the Paris of Degas and Zola while remaining, at its heart, the poignant story of two sisters struggling to stay together even as they find themselves pulled toward different, and often misunderstood, dreams. Cathy Marie Buchanan also explores the uneasy relationship between artist and muse with both compassion and soul-searing honesty.” Melanie Benjamin, author of Alice I Have Been
“Exquisite…A realistically robust portrait of working-class life in late nineteenth-century Paris. Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Tracy Chevalier, Susan Vreeland, and Melanie Benjamin.” Booklist
“Sisters, dance, art, ambition, and intrigue in late 1800s Paris. The Painted Girls offers the best of historical fiction: compelling characters brought backstage at l’Opera and front and center in Degas’s studio. This one has ‘book club favorite’ written all over it.” Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters
“Will hold you enthralled as it spools out the vivid story of young sisters in late nineteenth century Paris struggling to transcend their lives of poverty through the magic of dance. I guarantee, you will never look at Edgar Degas’s immortal sculpture of the Little Dancer in quite the same way again.” Kate Alcott, author of The Dressmaker
“Beautiful and haunting. From the first page, I was swept up and enchanted.” Amy Greene, author of Bloodroot
“Cathy Marie Buchanan’s harsh, realistic story, based on the lives of sisters Antoinette, Marie, and Charlotte van Goethem, is enhanced by the understated, unsentimental performances of Cassandra Campbell, Julia Whelan, and Danny Campbell. The narrators transport listeners to the slums and back-alleys of Belle-Epoque Paris. Campbell reveals Antoinette’s world-weary vision of the Parisian demimonde, the grueling struggle for survival, whether at the Paris Opéra, the washhouse, or the brothel. With vitality, innocence, and heartbreaking naïveté, Whelan voices Marie, a ballet ‘petit rat’ and model for ‘Little Dancer Aged Fourteen,’ by Edgar Degas. Danny Campbell offers a respite from the girls’ travails, reading actual newspaper articles and quotations from the dominant philosophy of the day. Earthy, erotic, always truthful—this is must listening. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Cathy Marie Buchanan

Author Bio: Cathy Marie Buchanan

Cathy Marie Buchanan was born and raised in Niagara Falls and lives in Toronto. Her short stories have appeared in many of Canada’s premier literary journals. She holds a BSc and an MBA from the University of Western Ontario and is the recipient of grants from both the Toronto Arts Council and the Ontario Arts Council. She is the author of The Day the Falls Stood Still, a New York Times bestseller and Barnes & Noble Recommends selection.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 12.27
Audience: Adult
Language: English