The Ghost of Greenwich Village by Lorna Graham audiobook

The Ghost of Greenwich Village: A Novel

By Lorna Graham
Read by Nicole Vilencia

Blackstone Publishing 9780345526212
11.07 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470801809

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482135626

  • $32.95

    ISBN: 9781441786531

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441786548

In the tradition of Sophie Kinsella and Lauren Weisberger comes this charming debut about a young woman who moves to Manhattan in search of romance and excitement, only to find that her apartment is haunted by the cantankerous ghost of an old beat-generation writer, who needs her help in finishing his life’s work. For Eve Weldon, moving to Greenwich Village is a dream come true. She grew up listening to stories of her mother’s time there during the bohemian era of the sixties, when she immersed herself in a lively community of artists and writers. But when Eve finally arrives, the only writer she meets is a cranky ghost named Donald, and the only writing she manages to do is for a morning news show called Smell the Coffee. The competitive environment of the network is a far cry from the congenial camaraderie of the literary scene in her mother’s day, and Eve begins to wonder if the world she sought has disappeared entirely. But as she struggles to balance her new job, a budding friendship with a legendary fashion designer, and a search for clues to her mother’s past, she starts to realize that community can come in all different forms and that the true magic of Greenwich Village is eternal, though it may sometimes reveal itself in the most unexpected ways.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Sophie Kinsella and Lauren Weisberger comes this charming debut about a young woman who moves to Manhattan in search of romance and excitement, only to find that her apartment is haunted by the cantankerous ghost of an old beat-generation writer, who needs her help in finishing his life’s work.

For Eve Weldon, moving to Greenwich Village is a dream come true. She grew up listening to stories of her mother’s time there during the bohemian era of the sixties, when she immersed herself in a lively community of artists and writers. But when Eve finally arrives, the only writer she meets is a cranky ghost named Donald, and the only writing she manages to do is for a morning news show called Smell the Coffee. The competitive environment of the network is a far cry from the congenial camaraderie of the literary scene in her mother’s day, and Eve begins to wonder if the world she sought has disappeared entirely. But as she struggles to balance her new job, a budding friendship with a legendary fashion designer, and a search for clues to her mother’s past, she starts to realize that community can come in all different forms and that the true magic of Greenwich Village is eternal, though it may sometimes reveal itself in the most unexpected ways.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Delightful.” People magazine’s Great Summer Reads List
“Go out and buy three copies…one for yourself, one for your mom, and one for your best friend. Lorna Graham has a gift.” Hoda Kotb, Today
“Bound to please.” New York Daily News’ Great Summer Book Roundup
“This debut novel exudes charm and insider knowledge…The characters are quirky and realistic, and the story rings true despite its reliance on a ghostly presence. Highly recommended for all fiction readers.” Library Journal
“A charming, lively tale.” Booklist
“Delightful coming-of-age story with a sweet reverence for the art and romance of old Gotham.” Kirkus Reviews
“Lorna Graham’s debut sparkles with wit and warmth and magic. Eve is a modern girl with an old soul whose story will make you smile and wish for ghosts of your own.” Judy Merrill Larsen, author of All the Numbers
“Lorna Graham’s novel is charming, a sweet and whimsical romp through a magical Manhattan. I would love to live in her Greenwich Village, both past and present.” Janelle Brown, author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
“The Ghost of Greenwich Village is a beautifully written love story. It’s a tribute to people and places, past and present, real and imagined. But it’s also a fascinating peek inside the world of morning news, and a fast-paced adventure of a single girl in New York City (complete with fabulous closet). While reading it, I wanted to bury myself in a really comfy chair and silence the phone so no one could disturb me until I’d devoured the last page.” Paulina Porizkova, author of A Model Summer

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lorna Graham

Author Bio: Lorna Graham

Lorna Graham was born in the San Francisco Bay area and graduated from Barnard College. She has written for Good Morning America and Dateline NBC. She also wrote a short film, A Timeless Call, honoring America’s military veterans, that was directed by Steven Spielberg. She lives in Greenwich Village.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 11.07
Audience: Adult
Language: English