Snowdon by Anne de Courcy audiobook

Snowdon: The Biography

By Anne de Courcy
Read by Theo Solomon

Tantor Audio
17.79 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781705276648

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

"The most sensational book on the Royal Family in recent times." —Sunday Telegraph "Offers a fascinating insight into not just his life but the social mores of the day." —Evening Standard How did a photographer who was a relentless playboy, an unashamed womanizer, and a leather-clad motorcyclist marry the Queen's sister and become the Establishment figure Lord Snowdon? The brilliantly talented Antony Armstrong-Jones often humiliated Princess Margaret, yet he was compassionate to the causes he cared about. Since his death in 2017, Snowdon still hasn't escaped the limelight, as more and more is revealed about his wild and intriguing life. Written with exclusive access to Snowdon and the people closest to him, this book uncovers the real man and his times. Addressing the facts behind the myths—the secret courtship of Margaret, the love child born just weeks after the royal marriage, the affairs on both sides, the suicide of one mistress, and the birth of an illegitimate son to another—this balanced yet no-holds-barred account of Snowdon's life is essential for fans of The Crown and Ma'am Darling.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

"The most sensational book on the Royal Family in recent times." —Sunday Telegraph

"Offers a fascinating insight into not just his life but the social mores of the day." —Evening Standard

How did a photographer who was a relentless playboy, an unashamed womanizer, and a leather-clad motorcyclist marry the Queen's sister and become the Establishment figure Lord Snowdon? The brilliantly talented Antony Armstrong-Jones often humiliated Princess Margaret, yet he was compassionate to the causes he cared about. Since his death in 2017, Snowdon still hasn't escaped the limelight, as more and more is revealed about his wild and intriguing life.

Written with exclusive access to Snowdon and the people closest to him, this book uncovers the real man and his times. Addressing the facts behind the myths—the secret courtship of Margaret, the love child born just weeks after the royal marriage, the affairs on both sides, the suicide of one mistress, and the birth of an illegitimate son to another—this balanced yet no-holds-barred account of Snowdon's life is essential for fans of The Crown and Ma'am Darling.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Anne de Courcy

Author Bio: Anne de Courcy

Anne de Courcy is the author of many widely acclaimed works of social history and biography, including 1939: The Last Season, Margot at War, The Fishing Fleet, The Viceroy’s Daughters, and Debs at War. Her books Diana Mosley and Snowdon: The Biography became the bases for television documentaries, and The Husband Hunters has been optioned for a feature film.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 17.79
Audience: Adult
Language: English