How to Write a Novel by Melanie Sumner audiobook

How to Write a Novel: A Novel

By Melanie Sumner
Read by Katie Schorr

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9781101873472
7.72 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504605779

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781504605809

Aristotle “Aris” Thibodeau is twelve-and-a-half years old and destined for greatness. Ever since her father’s death, however, she’s been stuck in the small town of Kanuga, Georgia, where she has to manage her mother Diane’s floundering love life and dubious commitment to her job as an English professor, not to mention coparenting a little brother who hogs all the therapy money. Luckily, Aris has a plan. Following the advice laid out in Write a Novel in Thirty Days!, she sets out to pen a bestseller using her charmingly dysfunctional family as material. If the mom character, Diane, would ditch online dating and accept that the perfect man is clearly the handyman/nanny character, Penn MacGuffin, Aris would have the essential romance for her plot (and a father in her real life). But when a random accident uncovers a dark part of Thibodeau family history, Aris is forced to confront the fact that sometimes in life—as in great literature—things might not work out exactly as planned. How to Write a Novel is a brilliant satire of the modern family, at once endearing, hilarious, and bittersweet.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Aristotle “Aris” Thibodeau is twelve-and-a-half years old and destined for greatness. Ever since her father’s death, however, she’s been stuck in the small town of Kanuga, Georgia, where she has to manage her mother Diane’s floundering love life and dubious commitment to her job as an English professor, not to mention coparenting a little brother who hogs all the therapy money.

Luckily, Aris has a plan. Following the advice laid out in Write a Novel in Thirty Days!, she sets out to pen a bestseller using her charmingly dysfunctional family as material. If the mom character, Diane, would ditch online dating and accept that the perfect man is clearly the handyman/nanny character, Penn MacGuffin, Aris would have the essential romance for her plot (and a father in her real life). But when a random accident uncovers a dark part of Thibodeau family history, Aris is forced to confront the fact that sometimes in life—as in great literature—things might not work out exactly as planned.

How to Write a Novel is a brilliant satire of the modern family, at once endearing, hilarious, and bittersweet.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Sumner brings a knowing, tongue-in-cheek sparkle to discussions of writing workshop chestnuts…never losing sight of the humanity of her characters and the unpredictable nature of reality.” Atlanta Journal-Constitution
“In the vein of Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project, Sumner’s quirky story about an unconventional family is charming and precocious, like Aris herself.” Library Journal
“A beautiful and accomplished novel by an extraordinarily gifted talent.” Jill McCorkle, author of Life after Life
“How a kid can help her broke, widowed, overwhelmed mom: write a novel!…Sweet, clever, and fun.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Melanie Sumner

Author Bio: Melanie Sumner

Melanie Sumner is the award-winning author of The Ghost of Milagro Creek, The School of Beauty and Charm, and Polite Society. Her short fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, Harper’s, the New York Times, Seventeen, and many other magazines and anthologies. She is the recipient of a NEA Fellowship in fiction, a PEN America grant, a Whiting Award, and was named one of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists in 1995. She is currently an assistant professor of English at Kennesaw State University, Georgia.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Humor
Runtime: 7.72
Audience: Adult
Language: English