Curious Toys by Elizabeth Hand audiobook

Curious Toys

By Elizabeth Hand
Read by Carol Monda

Mulholland Books, Mulholland, Hachette Book Group 9780316485883
10.75 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549142765

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $35.00

    ISBN: 9781549154416

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry) In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble. Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred. The crime will lead her to the iconic outsider artist Henry Darger, a brilliant but seemingly mad man. Together, the two navigate the seedy underbelly of a changing city to uncover a murderer few even know to look for.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the Locus Award

Finalist for the Shirley Jackson Award

A Slate Magazine Best Book of the Year in Audiobooks

A Literary Hub Pick of Favorite Books of the Year

A 2019 Locus Recommendation

A 2019 Booklist Best Book of Adult Books for Young Adults

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry)

In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble.

Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred.

The crime will lead her to the iconic outsider artist Henry Darger, a brilliant but seemingly mad man. Together, the two navigate the seedy underbelly of a changing city to uncover a murderer few even know to look for.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Curious Toys is wonderful! I stayed up late two nights in a row, transported. It will be catnip for readers who love Chicago, circuses, cross-dressers, and early cinema. Audrey Niffenegger, New York Times bestselling author
Hand--whose masterly oeuvre ranges from the eerie to the horrific, post-punk to magic--delivers another brilliant mystery.... Wonderfully imaginative and richly delivered. New York Times Book Review
“Curious Toys is itself like a carnival ride: alternatively dazzling and terrifying, disorienting and marvelous." Washington Post
"Brilliant, bustling . . . While Hand paces her mystery with classic precision, the real reward of Curious Toys lies in its richly textured panorama of Chicago during a crucial period of change, and in its vivid characters. Chicago Tribune
Deliciously creepy . . . Atmospheric . . . Hand's gripping plot mines the era's vagaries with aplomb. Associated Press
The latest novel from genre-crossing master storyteller Elizabeth Hand journeys from thriller territory straight into the heart of horror . . . A richly layered study of horror and sin and fantasy and reality, all in a peculiarly American vein. And it's scary as hell. Chicago Review of Books
“A new tale of intrigue and murder that checks off many of my favorite boxes. It’s got: lady detectives, old seaside amusement parks, the Gilded Age, silent film, women who disguise as men to embed in male-only groups, women who look out for other women.” CrimeReads
[Hand] crafts a gritty and winsome character whose sheer determination to catch a murderer makes this mystery novel whiz by. WBUR
A well-crafted and deliciously unsettling period thriller. Booklist (starred review)
Hand is a mage of the page.... [Curious Toys] will enchant those who like tough-girl protagonists and antiheroes, as well as fans of historical crime fiction. Library Journal (starred review)
Richly imaginative and psychologically complex. Kirkus Reviews
An atmospheric crime novel... A phantasmagoric time trip tailor-made for fans of The Devil in the White City. Publishers Weekly
“A fun-house mirror of a novel filled with Chicago history and detail. Dark and thrilling.” Lori Rader-Day, Edgar-nominated author
Glittering and scruffy as its carnival setting, with the deep gravity hold of a rollercoaster. Lauren Beukes, internationally acclaimed author
When great artists meet -- in this case Henry Darger and Elizabeth Hand -- extraordinary things happen. For years Elizabeth Hand has been the supreme writer's writer, an inside secret among those in the know. With Curious Toys, Elizabeth Hand confirms her place as one of the great writers of our era. This book is exactly what you want to read -- absorbing, intelligent, bold. As the author says, only a girl would be so brave. Sara Gran, author of The Infinite Blacktop
I've long admired Elizabeth Hand for her ability to write in whatever genre pleases her, be it noir, fantasy, or science fiction. With Curious Toys she goes further, spinning a wild, expansive, and bravura tale of carnival life, dead and missing girls, identity shifts, and big dreams transformed into awful nightmares. I loved this book. Sarah Weinman, author of The Real Lolita
Curious Toys is an utterly compelling read with a sleuth who will win your heart. This is one mystery you won't want to miss. Ellen Hart, author of the Jane Lawless mysteries
An immersive, inventive historical mystery, led by a distinctly modern, queer heroine. I loved this story! Kristen Lepionka, author of The Last Place You Look
I finished Curious Toys agog and filled with awe. The balance Elizabeth Hand strikes between history and fiction is breathtaking, every scene so memorable and etched in my mind. Here's hoping this masterful novel gets every accolade it richly deserves. Bradford Morrow, author of The Prague Sonata

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth Hand

Author Bio: Elizabeth Hand

Elizabeth Hand is the author of more than fourteen cross-genre novels and collections of short fiction. Her work has received the Shirley Jackson Award (three times), the World Fantasy Award (four times), the Nebula Award (twice), as well as the James M. Tiptree Jr. and Mythopoeic Society Awards. She is a longtime critic and contributor of essays for the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Salon, Boston Review, and the Village Voice, among many others.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.75
Audience: Adult
Language: English