Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan audiobook

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

By Susannah Cahalan
Read by Heather Henderson

Highbridge Audio, HighBridge 9781846147746
7.81 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.07
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781611749793

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

The astonishing, true story of the author's inexplicable descent into madness, and the brilliant, life-saving diagnosis that nearly didn't happen.

Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

Selected for the November 2012 Indie Next List

The astonishing, true story of the author's inexplicable descent into madness, and the brilliant, life-saving diagnosis that nearly didn't happen.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Captivating…Cahalan’s prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin.” New York Times Book Review
“A fascinating look at the disease that—if not for a nick-of-time diagnosis—could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life.” People
“Swift and haunting.” Scientific American
“The best reporters never stop asking questions, and Cahalan is no exception…The result is a kind of anti-memoir, an out-of-body personal account of a young woman’s fight to survive one of the cruelest diseases imaginable. And on every level, it’s remarkable…Cahalan is nothing if not tenacious, and she perfectly tempers her brutal honesty with compassion and something like vulnerability. It’s indisputable that Cahalan is a gifted reporter, and Brain on Fire is a stunningly brave book. But even more than that, she’s a naturally talented prose stylist—whip-smart but always unpretentious—and it’s nearly impossible to stop reading her, even in the book’s most painful passages…Brain on Fire comes from a place of intense pain and unthinkable isolation, but finds redemption in Cahalan’s unflagging, defiant toughness. It’s an unexpected gift of a book from one of America’s most courageous young journalists.” NPR
“The bizarre and confounding illness that beset the 24-year-old New York Post reporter in early 2009 so ravaged her mentally and physically that she became unrecognizable to coworkers, family, friends, and—most devastatingly—herself…She dedicates this miracle of a book to ‘those without a diagnosis’…[An] unforgettable memoir.” Elle
“This fascinating memoir by a young New York Post reporter…describes how she crossed the line between sanity and insanity…Cahalan expertly weaves together her own story and relevant scientific information…compelling.” Booklist (starred review)
“Focusing her journalistic toolbox on her story, Cahalan untangles the medical mystery surrounding her condition…A fast-paced and well-researched trek through a medical mystery to a hard-won recovery.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Susannah Cahalan

Author Bio: Susannah Cahalan

Susannah Cahalan is a news reporter at the New York Post whose award-winning work has also been featured in the New York Times. She lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography
Runtime: 7.81
Audience: Adult
Language: English