Discovering Wes Moore by Wes Moore audiobook

Discovering Wes Moore

By Wes Moore
Read by Wes Moore

Listening Library (Audio) 9780385741675
4.02 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780804121927

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.   The story of “the other Wes Moore” is one that the author couldn’t get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.   Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore’s bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.   Includes an 8-page photo insert. Praise for Discovering Wes Moore   “Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.”—Publishers Weekly   “He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.”—Kirkus Reviews

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.
 
The story of “the other Wes Moore” is one that the author couldn’t get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his name—just two years his senior—grew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boy—now a man—a letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failure—and the choices that make all the difference.
 
Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moore’s bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.
 
Includes an 8-page photo insert.


Praise for Discovering Wes Moore
 
“Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.”—Kirkus Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

This adaptation . . . makes for a hopeful and inspiring story. Kirkus Reviews
A moving exploration. Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
“Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.” Publishers Weekly
Moore vividly and powerfully describes not just the culture of the streets but how it feels to be a boy growing up in a world where violence makes you a man. O: The Oprah Magazine
A haunting look at two lives. Booklist, Starred Review
“A gripping memoir about one's response to adversity.” VOYA
“A thought-provoking read that will cause teens to question their own lives and decisions, and, hopefully, show how adults can lend help, even when they think it’s not necessary.” School Library Journal
“A hopeful and inspiring story.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Wes Moore

Author Bio: Wes Moore

Wes Moore is a Rhodes Scholar, a combat veteran of Afghanistan, and has worked as a special assistant to Secretary Condoleezza Rice at the State Department as a White House fellow. He was a featured speaker at the 2008 Democratic National Convention, named one of Ebony magazine’s “Top Thirty Leaders Under Thirty,” and was recently dubbed one of the top young business leaders in America by Crain’s. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 4.02
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English