Closing Costs by Bracken MacLeod audiobook

Closing Costs

By Bracken MacLeod

HarperAudio 9780358334736
1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.00

    ISBN: 9780358540205

  • $44.99

    ISBN: 9780358540137

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781799968498

In a home invasion thriller for fans of The Girl Before and The Red Hunter, a perfect couple is threatened by a seemingly random attacker as well as by the dangerous secret they’ve been hiding. Eleanora “Nelle” Pereira and her husband, Evan, are three months into their new suburban paradise of home ownership. With one neighbor and a state forest wrapping their house for miles, their bucolic haven gives them the anonymity and peace they have been craving after the bustle of urban Boston life. Then, one Saturday morning, the young couple are attacked and tied up in their basement by an armed and aggressive man with a singular demand: he wants Nelle to make a very important phone call. Unaware that this isn’t a chance encounter but a calculated crime, Nelle is desperate to see herself and her husband to safety. But before this long day is through, Nelle and Evan, who share a dangerous secret, will bring a violent reckoning down upon all of them.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In a home invasion thriller for fans of The Girl Before and The Red Hunter, a perfect couple is threatened by a seemingly random attacker as well as by the dangerous secret they’ve been hiding.

Eleanora “Nelle” Pereira and her husband, Evan, are three months into their new suburban paradise of home ownership. With one neighbor and a state forest wrapping their house for miles, their bucolic haven gives them the anonymity and peace they have been craving after the bustle of urban Boston life. Then, one Saturday morning, the young couple are attacked and tied up in their basement by an armed and aggressive man with a singular demand: he wants Nelle to make a very important phone call. Unaware that this isn’t a chance encounter but a calculated crime, Nelle is desperate to see herself and her husband to safety. But before this long day is through, Nelle and Evan, who share a dangerous secret, will bring a violent reckoning down upon all of them.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

CLOSING COSTS is a true roller-coaster ride of a book; an unputdownable thriller that will give you an adrenaline rush from the safety of your living room (at least, you think you’re safe until you start imagining you hear footsteps in the basement, the creak of a door opening…). As Bracken MacLeod deftly reveals the secrets at the heart of the story, he reminds us that every choice has its consequences, and few things are ever truly what they seem.    —Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Winter People and The Drowning Kind “An unflinching, un-put-downable, first-rate mashup of home invasion nightmare and modern day noir while also, somehow, holding up a mirror to our ugliness and beauty. Imagine A Simple Plan having been written by the late-great Jack Ketchum, but Bracken MacLeod forges his own path with this teeth-gritting blazer. Happy house hunting?”—Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Survivor Song    “The suburbs are a place where bodies compost beneath rose bushes, where black mold festers behind fresh paint, where seemingly perfect families keep their secrets hidden behind tall hedges and drawn curtains. This is the stage for Bracken MacLeod's novel, CLOSING COSTS, a home invasion story that is unrelenting in its suspense and rich with deliciously poisonous mystery. A pitch-perfect thriller for these paranoid, isolated times.”—Benjamin Percy, author of The Dark Net, Thrill Me, and Red Moon   “A true edge-of-your-seat thriller, CLOSING COSTS quite literally had me holding my breath as I turned the pages. Very few writers have the skill to achieve that, but Bracken MacLeod makes it look easy. Unflinching, filled with rapid-fire twists and desperate hours, it’s a must-read for crime and thriller fans!”—Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Ararat and Red Hands "CLOSING COSTS is a compelling portrait of a marriage, and an unflinching look at a terrible tangle of secrets, lies, and mistakes that lead to irrevocable consequences. From the explosive first pages, through every hairpin twist and turn, and right to the shocking final scenes, Bracken MacLeod expertly ratchets up the suspense page by breathless page in this stellar home invasion thriller." —Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Confessions on the 7:45

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Bracken MacLeod

Author Bio: Bracken MacLeod

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Audience: Adult
Language: English