Rainbow in the Dark by Sean McGinty audiobook

Rainbow in the Dark

By Sean McGinty
Read by Maria Liatis

HarperAudio 9780358380375
8.25 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780358578291

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9780358577393

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781665066372

The Wizard of Oz meets Ready Player One in this darkly comic YA novel about identity, depression, giving up, and finding your way home. High school senior Rainbow is trapped with three other teens in a game-like world that may or may not be real. Together, they must complete quests and gain experience in order to access their own forgotten memories, decode what has happened to them, and find a portal home.   As Rainbow’s memories slowly return, the story of a lonely teen facing senior year as the new kid in a small town emerges. Surreal, absurdist humor balances sensitively handled themes of suicide, depression, and the search for identity in an unpredictable and ultimately hopeful page-turner that's perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson, Adam Silvera, and Libba Bray's Going Bovine.  

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The Wizard of Oz meets Ready Player One in this darkly comic YA novel about identity, depression, giving up, and finding your way home.

High school senior Rainbow is trapped with three other teens in a game-like world that may or may not be real. Together, they must complete quests and gain experience in order to access their own forgotten memories, decode what has happened to them, and find a portal home.
 
As Rainbow’s memories slowly return, the story of a lonely teen facing senior year as the new kid in a small town emerges. Surreal, absurdist humor balances sensitively handled themes of suicide, depression, and the search for identity in an unpredictable and ultimately hopeful page-turner that's perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson, Adam Silvera, and Libba Bray's Going Bovine.
 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

★ "McGinty deftly updates L. Frank Baum’s classic tale with modern-day existential angst, creating a unique world that’s terrifying in both its foreignness and its familiarity....A page-turner that handles mental health with grace. Kirkus, STARRED review “McGinty reflects both the absurdism and horror of living with mental illness….Sartre’s No Exit if purgatory were a video game. Hand to teens with depression, who like “Dungeons and Dragons,” or who play indie video games; all three will feel seen.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sean McGinty

Author Bio: Sean McGinty Sean McGinty teaches Writing at Mount Hood Community College. He lives in Oregon with his family and his dogs. Twitter: @mcgintyface, Instagram: @mcgintyface

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Humor
Runtime: 8.25
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English