The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed audiobook

The Black Kids

By Christina Hammonds Reed
Read by Kiersey Clemons

Simon & Schuster Audio UK
8.93 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Not Available For Sale in us

    ISBN: 9781471195341

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself.  Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of high school and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them? Praise for The Black Kids: 'Should be required reading in every classroom' – Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin 'A prescient coming-of-age debut' – Elle.com 'Utterly brilliant' STYLIST

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself. 

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of high school and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Praise for The Black Kids:

'Should be required reading in every classroom' – Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
'A prescient coming-of-age debut' – Elle.com
'Utterly brilliant' STYLIST

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Christina Hammonds Reed

Author Bio: Christina Hammonds Reed

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.93
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English