Spitfire by M. L. Huie audiobook

Spitfire: A Livy Nash Mystery

By M. L. Huie
Read by Justine Eyre

Blackstone Publishing 9781643852454

The Livy Nash Mystery Series: Book 1

8.42 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781094007120

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781094007137

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781094007106

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781094007113

A new historical mystery for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network How far would you go for vengeance? It’s V-E Day 1946 in London. World War II is long over, and former spy Livy Nash is celebrating with her third drink before noon. She went to war to kill Nazis. Dropped behind enemy lines as a courier, she quickly became one of the toughest agents in France. But her war ended with betrayal and the execution of the man she loved. Now, Livy spends her days proofreading a demeaning advice column for little ladies at home and her nights alone with black market vodka. But everything changes when she meets the infamous Ian Fleming. The man who will create the world’s most sophisticated secret agent has an agenda of his own and sends Livy back to France with one task: track down the traitor who killed the only man she ever loved. Livy jumps at the chance, heading back to Paris undercover as a journalist. But the City of Lights is teeming with spies, and Livy quickly learns just how much the game has changed. With enemies on every corner and ever-shifting alliances, she will have to learn to fight a new war if she wants to conquer the past once and for all.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A new historical mystery for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network

How far would you go for vengeance?

It’s V-E Day 1946 in London. World War II is long over, and former spy Livy Nash is celebrating with her third drink before noon. She went to war to kill Nazis. Dropped behind enemy lines as a courier, she quickly became one of the toughest agents in France. But her war ended with betrayal and the execution of the man she loved. Now, Livy spends her days proofreading a demeaning advice column for little ladies at home and her nights alone with black market vodka.

But everything changes when she meets the infamous Ian Fleming. The man who will create the world’s most sophisticated secret agent has an agenda of his own and sends Livy back to France with one task: track down the traitor who killed the only man she ever loved. Livy jumps at the chance, heading back to Paris undercover as a journalist. But the City of Lights is teeming with spies, and Livy quickly learns just how much the game has changed. With enemies on every corner and ever-shifting alliances, she will have to learn to fight a new war if she wants to conquer the past once and for all.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Satisfying to the very end…A good book and the start of a good series.” New York Journal of Books
“A deftly penned and simply riveting read with more unexpected plot twists and turns than a Disneyland roller coaster.” Midwest Book Review
“Narrator Justine Eyre delivers this fascinating story set just after WWII…Eyre’s British accent gives former spy Olivia Nash and spymaster Ian Fleming the necessary gravitas. She also handles the accents of a host of German, French, American, and Russian operatives…Eyre deftly offers a fast-paced, suspenseful series of events and a thrilling conclusion.” AudioFile
“Huie does an excellent job dramatizing events in the early days of the cold war. Vibrant characters, international intrigue, gritty action, and a wittily acerbic Ian Fleming, too—who could ask for more?” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“An old-fashioned mystery shot through with tragedy; for aficionados of the glamour and romance of spy craft.” Kirkus Reviews
“Offer[s] a look at the fragile psyches of veterans in England and France, as well as the inner turmoil of war heroes who’ve seen too much but feel morally bound to fight on. Booklist
“Huie’s taut spy thriller takes the reader to a Britain and France where the wounds of war are both deep and fresh…An auspicious debut.” Charlie Lovett, author of The Lost Book of the Grail
“Huie writes with dry, cracking wit and unflinching heart…Filled with intrigue, betrayal, heartache, and danger, Spitfire is a debut not to be missed.” Meghan Holloway, author of Once More Unto the Breach
“Gritty and glamorous, Spitfire races through the streets of post-war London and Paris in a twisting story of intrigue and betrayal…Livy Nash is exactly my kind of heroine.” Julia Kelly, author of The Light Over London
“Meticulously researched with a twisty, compelling plot and a heroine that you root for from the first page, Spitfire combines all the elements of great historical fiction.” Jane Healey, author of The Beantown Girls
“Huie has created a hard-bitten, hardcore heroine in Livy Nash, and a perfectly noir spy thriller.” Alisa Smith, author of the Lena Stillman series
“If you’re a fan of espionage thrillers, you’ll love Spitfire…A fantastic debut novel.” Jeanne M. Dickson, author of Grounded Hearts

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: M. L. Huie

Author Bio: M. L. Huie

M. L. Huie is a writer, teacher, and actor. In addition to working ten years as a features journalist, he has written several plays that have been performed throughout the United States and the United Kingdom.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.42
Audience: Adult
Language: English