Clean Getaway by Nic Stone audiobook

Clean Getaway

By Nic Stone

Listening Library (Audio) 9781984892973
Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.00
    or 1 Credit
    Available on 01/07/2020

    ISBN: 9780593155394

  • $30.00
    Available on 01/07/2020

    ISBN: 9780593155387

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds. How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:   •  Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.   •  Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.   •  Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home. What Not to Bring:   •  A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual. Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
  •  Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.
  •  Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either.
  •  Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories, and most important, the way home.

What Not to Bring:
  •  A Cell Phone: Avoid contact with Dad at all costs. Even when G'ma starts acting stranger than usual.

Set against the backdrop of the segregation history of the American South, take a trip with New York Times bestselling Nic Stone and an eleven-year-old boy who is about to discover that the world hasn't always been a welcoming place for kids like him, and things aren't always what they seem--his G'ma included.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness. The New York Times
For fans of authors who dig complex relationships, like Shannon M. Parker, Ashley Woodfolk and Misa Sugiura. Paste Magazine
Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed. Teen Vogue
A radiant masterpiece! Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End
Absolutely incredible, honest, gut-wrenching. A must read! Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give
Painfully timely and deeply moving. Jodi Picoult"Raw and gripping.
Powerful, wrenching. John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nic Stone

Author Bio: Nic Stone

Nic Stone was born and raised in a suburb of Atlanta, Georgia, and the only thing she loves more than an adventure is a good story about one. She is a Spelman College graduate. After working extensively in teen mentoring and living in Israel for a few years, she returned to the United States to write full-time. Dear Martin, her first novel, is loosely based on a series of true events involving the shooting deaths of unarmed African American teenagers. Shaken by the various responses to these incidents—and to the pro-justice movement that sprang up as a result—she began the project in an attempt to examine current affairs through the lens of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s teachings.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English