Disturbing the Dead by Sandra Parshall audiobook

Disturbing the Dead

By Sandra Parshall
Poisoned Pen Press Mystery
Read by Tavia Gilbert

Blackstone Publishing 9781590583784

The Rachel Goddard Mysteries: Book 2

10.55 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781483014166

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482169782

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781483014203

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781483014180

Tom Bridger, who is half Melungeon, thought he had escapedhis mountain community’s lingering prejudice against the mixed-race group whenhe left to work for the Richmond, Virginia, Police Department. Tom was movingup the detective ranks when a family tragedy brought him back home and movedhim into his father’s job as a county sheriff’s deputy.  Now the bones of a Melungeon woman who disappeared ten years ago have surfacedon a remote mountaintop, and all evidence points to murder. Violence escalatesas the victim’s poor family and the wealthy white family she married intoscramble to protect their secrets from Tom’s probing. But as he looks into hisfather’s investigation of the case, he finds his father was not the man heidolized. The woman Tom is falling in love with, veterinarian RachelGoddard, is struggling to start over in a place that holds no memories for her.Rachel puts herself in danger when she befriends Holly, niece of the dead Melungeon woman. As a child, the girl witnessed something that could implicate heraunt’s killer, but she is too terrified to tell anyone what she knows. WhileRachel is determined to keep Holly safe and help her piece together pastevents, the guilty are equally determined to silence the girl—and Rachel too,if necessary. Will this murder be Tom’s and Rachel’s undoing, or will itfree them to look into the future?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2008 Benjamin Franklin Award

Tom Bridger, who is half Melungeon, thought he had escapedhis mountain community’s lingering prejudice against the mixed-race group whenhe left to work for the Richmond, Virginia, Police Department. Tom was movingup the detective ranks when a family tragedy brought him back home and movedhim into his father’s job as a county sheriff’s deputy. 

Now the bones of a Melungeon woman who disappeared ten years ago have surfacedon a remote mountaintop, and all evidence points to murder. Violence escalatesas the victim’s poor family and the wealthy white family she married intoscramble to protect their secrets from Tom’s probing. But as he looks into hisfather’s investigation of the case, he finds his father was not the man heidolized.

The woman Tom is falling in love with, veterinarian RachelGoddard, is struggling to start over in a place that holds no memories for her.Rachel puts herself in danger when she befriends Holly, niece of the dead Melungeon woman. As a child, the girl witnessed something that could implicate heraunt’s killer, but she is too terrified to tell anyone what she knows. WhileRachel is determined to keep Holly safe and help her piece together pastevents, the guilty are equally determined to silence the girl—and Rachel too,if necessary.

Will this murder be Tom’s and Rachel’s undoing, or will itfree them to look into the future?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[Parshall] skillfully evokes the rural South without resorting to cliché or contempt. Along with the character of Bridger, veterinarian Rachel Goddard and the teenaged Holly come vividly to life and add depth to this engaging slice of country crime.” Mystery Scene
Disturbing the Dead is an engrossing read.” Crimespree magazine
“Edge-of-the-seat suspense and a budding romance for Tom and Rachel make this essential reading for fans of Margaret Maron and Karin Slaughter.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Dark, suspenseful…A lethal, gothic drama.” Publishers Weekly
“Parshall effectively captures the atmosphere of a closed rural community and weaves a compelling plot that will appeal to mainstream mystery readers.” Booklist
“Fast paced, chilling, and compulsively readable.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sandra Parshall

Author Bio: Sandra Parshall

Sandra Parshall, a native southerner, is the author of the Rachel Goddard mysteries, the first of which, The Heat of the Moon, won the 2006 Agatha Award for Best First Novel. A former newspaper reporter in South Carolina, West Virginia, and Baltimore, she now lives in northern Virginia with her husband, a longtime Washington journalist.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.55
Audience: Adult
Language: English