The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray audiobook

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

By Anissa Gray
Read by January LaVoy , Adenrele Ojo , Bahni Turpin , and Dominic Hoffman

9.94 Hours 02/19/2019 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781984846846

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post  “A fast-paced, intriguing story...the novel’s real achievement is its uncommon perceptiveness on the origins and variations of addiction.”—The New York Times Book Review   One of the most anticipated reads of 2019 from Vogue, Vanity Fair, Washington Post, Buzzfeed, Essence, Bustle, HelloGiggles and Cosmo!   “The Mothers meets An American Marriage” (HelloGiggles) in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you. The Butler family has had their share of trials—as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest—but nothing prepared them for the literal trial that will upend their lives.   Althea, the eldest sister and substitute matriarch, is a force to be reckoned with and her younger sisters have alternately appreciated and chafed at her strong will. They are as stunned as the rest of the small community when she and her husband, Proctor, are arrested, and in a heartbeat the family goes from one of the most respected in town to utter disgrace. The worst part is, not even her sisters are sure exactly what happened.   As Althea awaits her fate, Lillian and Viola must come together in the house they grew up in to care for their sister’s teenage daughters. What unfolds is a stunning portrait of the heart and core of an American family in a story that is as page-turning as it is important.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A February 2019 LibraryReads Pick

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post 

“A fast-paced, intriguing story...the novel’s real achievement is its uncommon perceptiveness on the origins and variations of addiction.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
One of the most anticipated reads of 2019 from Vogue, Vanity Fair, Washington Post, Buzzfeed, Essence, Bustle, HelloGiggles and Cosmo!
 
“The Mothers meets An American Marriage” (HelloGiggles) in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.

The Butler family has had their share of trials—as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest—but nothing prepared them for the literal trial that will upend their lives.
 
Althea, the eldest sister and substitute matriarch, is a force to be reckoned with and her younger sisters have alternately appreciated and chafed at her strong will. They are as stunned as the rest of the small community when she and her husband, Proctor, are arrested, and in a heartbeat the family goes from one of the most respected in town to utter disgrace. The worst part is, not even her sisters are sure exactly what happened.
 
As Althea awaits her fate, Lillian and Viola must come together in the house they grew up in to care for their sister’s teenage daughters. What unfolds is a stunning portrait of the heart and core of an American family in a story that is as page-turning as it is important.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important. Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years
A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray’s heartfelt, beautifully written debut...Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you’re going to want to talk about. Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author
[A] stark, emotional story you don't want to miss. Bustle   
Anissa Gray’s debut is heralded as “The Mothers meets An American Marriage.” If that’s not enough to sell you on this stunning novel about family and relationships, we don’t know what will. HelloGiggles  
This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett’s The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself. Publisher's Weekly
Gray’s engrossing and moving debut novel considers secrets and lies and their effect on the families of three sisters. Booklist 
Deftly exploring black identity, sibling roles, and emotional trauma, Gray paints a nuanced family portrait you can’t turn away from. Entertainment Weekly
[A] moving portrait of a troubled family that would be an excellent book club pick. PureWow
Gray manages a large cast of characters with ease, sharply differentiating between the voices of hardheaded Althea, shrewd Viola, and hesitating Lillian, who narrate the novel in alternating chapters. Kirkus
Gray’s absorbing novel is about family and the things we hunger for. Real Simple
As in Tayari Jones’s best-selling An American Marriage, Gray uses imprisonment as the backdrop for a disarmingly compelling story that skirts easy answers and sentimentality. Conversational in tone and difficult in subject, Care and Feeding tells not just an American story but several important ones. Vogue  
The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishly in this bighearted novel. Oprah Magazine
An Indie Next, Library Reads, Barnes & Noble Discover, and Marie Claire’s #ReadwithMC March Book Club Pick!
"Gray's nuanced, lyrical debut is a moving examination of the ties that bind and—nearly as often—bless. People
[An] intimate family saga sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng. Entertainment Weekly
If you enjoyed An American Marriage, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness. The Washington Post    
I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray’s voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed! Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale
In her masterful debut, Anissa Gray dissects this disbanded family until the hollow bones lay bare and exposed.  From these raw remains, Gray’s stark prose reveals a glimpse of the ‘why,’ which is the only hope for the ‘never again.’  The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls is a poetically written story that guides us through a deep darkness toward a faint whisper of light seeping from beneath a closet door.  A light that shows how love and forgiveness can come from unexpected places and triumph over more than we ever imagine. Delia Owens, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing
“Multiple narrators leave no emotion untouched as they dive into the struggles, anxieties, and fears of the Butler siblings…Adenrele Ojo’s performance is steely and stoic as Althea Butler faces her long punishment. Her husband, Proctor, is portrayed by Dominic Hoffman, whose smooth, deep voice emanates the immense affection Proctor has for his wife and his daughters…January LaVoy’s casual tone and resonate timbre are a perfect fit for Althea’s sister Viola…Bahni Turpin takes on sister Lillian in a voice that is warm and cautious as she gives up her fresh start to hold her family together.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Anissa Gray

Author Bio: Anissa Gray

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 9.94
Audience: Adult
Language: English