Finding Yvonne by Brandy Colbert audiobook

Finding Yvonne

By Brandy Colbert
Read by Maya Barton

Little, Brown Young Readers
6.16 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549174841

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert. Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced to face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school. Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future. From the author of Pointe and Little & Lion, comes another heartfelt novel about the twists and turns that can show up on a path meant only for you.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.
Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced to face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school.
Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future.
From the author of Pointe and Little & Lion, comes another heartfelt novel about the twists and turns that can show up on a path meant only for you.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

* "Colbert sensitively confronts misconceptions about mental illness, bisexuality, and intersectional identity.... A vibrantly depicted Los Angeles. Kirkus Reviews, starred review
* "A moving, diverse exploration of the challenges of growing up and the complicated nature of loyalty. School Library Journal, starred review
* "This superbly written novel teems with meaningful depth, which is perfectly balanced by romance and the languorous freedom of summer. Booklist, starred review
* "From the threads of love and romance, to redefining family life, readers of all walks of life will find an entry point to this title. Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review
A moving and well-realized examination of secrecy, trust, and intimacy. Publishers Weekly
With compelling honesty, Colbert portrays Suzette's evolving understanding of her sexuality, Lionel's longing for self-sufficiency alongside the challenges of his mental illness, and the difficulty of shifting familial relationships. Horn Book
Hand [Little & Lion] to readers who like thoughtful, edgy stories with no easy answers. VOYA
Brandy Colbert takes us on an emotional and gorgeous journey with a protagonist who is trying to figure out where she fits in with her family as well as in the world. A book full of overwhelming love and courage. Sara Farizan, author of Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel
"Brandy Colbert further establishes herself as one of contemporary YA's biggest talents in this thoughtful and thought-provoking examination of identity, loyalty, and what it means to live with integrity. Little & Lion is a stunningly good novel. Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} "A pitch-perfect song of a book about all the ways a heart can break and mend, Finding Yvonne will stay with you long past its final, bittersweet notes. p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} "Brandy Colbert has crafted a meaningful and masterful book that explores all of the different ways that we can surprise ourselves. Yvonne's path through family ties, hidden talents, and difficult decisions reveals the hard-won truth of an unforgettable character. I loved this book. p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} Robin Benway, National Book Award Winner and New York Times bestselling author of Far from the Tree
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} "Colbert's excellent ear for dialogue is on display in her latest, and she does a fantastic job of capturing the particular anxieties of a highly intelligent, talented teen at a crossroads, as well as the weight of microaggressions about everything from race to sexuality to economic status. Booklist
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} "Colbert delivers another emotionally layered story. Publishers Weekly
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} "[Yvonne's] a compelling protagonist, and she'll speak to readers thrown by the lack of certainty in their own futures. Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} "Readers will be able to relate to the challenges faced by the diverse and realistic characters that Colbert has created. School Library Connection
“The youthful glow of narrator Maya Burton’s performance brings a generous amount of authenticity to the voice of teenaged Yvonne, a violinist who has lost her passion for music. Burton tones down the warmth and enthusiasm in her voice as Yvonne struggles to overcome her ennui, until she finds inspiration through Omar, a bohemian street musician. Burton immediately hooks into Omar’s laid-back West Coast vibe, and she contrast it with a more rigid and intense portrayal of Warren…Burton is the perfect narrator to bring home this story about difficult choices and searching for your passion. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Brandy Colbert

Author Bio: Brandy Colbert

Brandy Colbert is the critically acclaimed author of several novels, whose Pointe won the 2014 Cybils Award for young adult fiction and was named a best book of 2014 by Publishers Weekly, BookRiot, and more. Her Little & Lion was a Junior Library Guild and a Book of the Month Club selection. She was chosen as a Publishers Weekly Flying Start author for spring 2014. She was born and raised in Springfield, Missouri, and earned a bachelors degree in journalism from Missouri State University. She works as a copy editor for magazines and books.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.16
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English