The Limits of the World by Jennifer Acker audiobook

The Limits of the World: A Novel

By Jennifer Acker
Read by Priya Ayyar  and Ron Butler

9.55 Hours 04/16/2019 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538584019

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781538584026

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538583999

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538584002

The Chandaria family—emigrants from the Indian-enclave of Nairobi—have managed to flourish in America. Premchand, the father, is a doctor who has worked doggedly to grow his practice and give his family security; his wife, Urmila, runs a business importing artisanal Kenyan crafts; and their son, Sunil, after quitting the pre-med track, has gotten accepted to a PhD program in philosophy at Harvard. But the parents have kept a very important secret from Sunil: his cousin, Bimal, is actually his older brother. And when this previously hidden history is revealed by an unforeseen accident, and the entire family is forced to return to Nairobi, Sunil reveals his own well-kept, explosive secret: his Jewish-American girlfriend, who has accompanied him to Kenya, is, in fact, already his wife. Spanning four generations and three continents, The Limits of the World illuminates the vast mosaic of cultural divisions and ethical considerations that shape the ways in which we judge one another’s actions. A dazzling debut novel—written with rare empathy and insight—it is a powerful depiction of how we prevent ourselves, unwittingly and otherwise, from understanding the people we are closest to.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The Chandaria family—emigrants from the Indian-enclave of Nairobi—have managed to flourish in America. Premchand, the father, is a doctor who has worked doggedly to grow his practice and give his family security; his wife, Urmila, runs a business importing artisanal Kenyan crafts; and their son, Sunil, after quitting the pre-med track, has gotten accepted to a PhD program in philosophy at Harvard. But the parents have kept a very important secret from Sunil: his cousin, Bimal, is actually his older brother. And when this previously hidden history is revealed by an unforeseen accident, and the entire family is forced to return to Nairobi, Sunil reveals his own well-kept, explosive secret: his Jewish-American girlfriend, who has accompanied him to Kenya, is, in fact, already his wife.

Spanning four generations and three continents, The Limits of the World illuminates the vast mosaic of cultural divisions and ethical considerations that shape the ways in which we judge one another’s actions. A dazzling debut novel—written with rare empathy and insight—it is a powerful depiction of how we prevent ourselves, unwittingly and otherwise, from understanding the people we are closest to.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Acker presents a complex and compelling tale that offers the possibility of resolutions while boldly acknowledging the restless imperfections of relationships.” Booklist
“Acker unwinds a complex intergenerational story of immigration, culture, family, partnership, and ethics in her skillful debut…Fans of Jhumpa Lahiri or Yaa Gyasi will want to check out Acker’s elegant saga.” Publishers Weekly
“A rare but honest look at the way parents, children, and spouses talk to one another but don’t always hear what’s being said. A thoughtful, deeply researched debut.” Kirkus Reviews
“This unabashedly intelligent and beautiful book of generational conflict, culture clashes, and immigrant assimilation reminds us the limits of this world depend entirely on the sizes our hearts, our capacity to love ourselves and each other.” Scott Cheshire, author of High as the Horses’ Bridle

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jennifer Acker

Author Bio: Jennifer Acker

Jennifer Acker is founder and editor-in-chief of the Common. She has an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars. Her short stories have been published in n+1, Guernica, and the Literary Review, among others. Translations and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in Slate, VQR, Harper’s, Ploughshares, the Millions, the New Inquiry, and the San Francisco Chronicle. Acker teaches at Amherst College, and she was a Faculty Fellow at NYU, Abu Dhabi. She lives in western Massachusetts.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.55
Audience: Adult
Language: English