Face of the Enemy by Joanne Dobson audiobook

Face of the Enemy: A New York in Wartime Mystery

By Joanne Dobson and Beverle Graves Myers
A Poisoned Pen Press Mystery
Read by Celeste Lawson

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9781464200311
13.13 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470822132

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482138719

  • $32.95

    ISBN: 9781455163717

In December 1941, America is reeling from the brutal attack on Pearl Harbor. Both patriotism and paranoia grip New York as the city frantically mobilizes for war. Nurse Louise Hunter is outraged when the FBI, in a midnight sweep of prominent Japanese residents, storms in to arrest her patient’s wife. The desperately ill Professor Oakley is married to artist Masako Fumi. The nurse vows to help the professor free Masako. But when the murdered body of Masako’s art dealer is discovered in the gallery where he’d been closing down her controversial show, Masako’s troubles multiply. Homicide detective Michael McKenna doubts her guilt, but an ambitious government man schemes to lever the homicide and ensuing espionage accusations into a political cause célèbre. Struggling to focus on one man’s murder while America plunges into a worldwide war, Louise and McKenna defy both racism and ham-fisted government agents in order to expose the real killer.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In December 1941, America is reeling from the brutal attack on Pearl Harbor. Both patriotism and paranoia grip New York as the city frantically mobilizes for war. Nurse Louise Hunter is outraged when the FBI, in a midnight sweep of prominent Japanese residents, storms in to arrest her patient’s wife. The desperately ill Professor Oakley is married to artist Masako Fumi. The nurse vows to help the professor free Masako. But when the murdered body of Masako’s art dealer is discovered in the gallery where he’d been closing down her controversial show, Masako’s troubles multiply. Homicide detective Michael McKenna doubts her guilt, but an ambitious government man schemes to lever the homicide and ensuing espionage accusations into a political cause célèbre.

Struggling to focus on one man’s murder while America plunges into a worldwide war, Louise and McKenna defy both racism and ham-fisted government agents in order to expose the real killer.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This winning collaborative debut by Dobson, author of the Professor Karen Pelletier mysteries, and Myers, author of the Baroque series, introduces two determined female amateur sleuths operating just as the United States enters World War II…Recommend for fans of Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy series and Sarah Shaber’s Louise Pearlie mysteries.”  Library Journal
“Dobson and Myers collaborate to introduce a planned series on wartime New York…Colorful characters and the evocation of Gotham in the 1940s: the Bund, America First, egg creams, Schrafft’s, Horn & Hardart. More, please.”  Kirkus Reviews
Face of the Enemy is much more than a whodunit—with New York City as its backdrop, this mystery explores how a diverse cast of characters attempt to make sense of the most seminal event in the twentieth century—World War II. The plight of a Japanese immigrant artist, pursued by both the FBI and New York Police Department, is especially moving. If you are not a fan of 1940s American history, you will become one!”  Naomi Hirahara, author of the Mas Arai mysteries 

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Joanne Dobson

Author Bio: Joanne Dobson

Joanne Dobson, a former professor of English at Fordham University, is the author of the Professor Karen Pelletier mystery series. The first book in the series, Quieter Than Sleep, was nominated for an Agatha Award in 1997 for Best First Novel, and in 2001 the adult readers division of the New York Library Association named her Noted Author of the Year, being the writer whose books they most enjoyed recommending to their patrons. 

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Beverle Graves Myers

Author Bio: Beverle Graves Myers

Beverle Graves Myers practiced psychiatry at a public mental-health clinic before making a midlife career switch to writing. She is the author of the Tito Amato mystery series and the Helluva War series, as well as numerous short stories and articles. Her short story “Haven City” won the 2006 Million Writers Award. She lives in Kentucky.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 13.13
Audience: Adult
Language: English