Speak No Evil by Uzodinma Iweala audiobook

Speak No Evil: A Novel

By Uzodinma Iweala
Read by Prentice Onayemi  and Julia Whelan

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780061284922
6.35 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062798961

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781538502334

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538502327

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences. On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he’s a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer—an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders—and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. In the tradition of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala’s second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he’s a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer—an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders—and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala’s second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Prentice Onayemi performs the bulk of this timely story of immigration, sexual identity, and black profiling… Onayemi’s sympathetic delivery captures Niru’s double life using a light tone for the teen’s outer persona as a good son, friend, and student and becoming more somber when the boy broods about his suppressed homosexuality and his own vision of the future. Onayemi’s rendition of the Nigerian accents is believable and respectful. Julia Whelan’s performance of the sections told by Niru’s best friend, Meredith, emphasizes the girl’s youth and difficulty dealing with her role in Niru’s ultimate fate.” AudioFile
“A lovely, slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read.” Gary Shteyngart, New York Times bestselling author
“Throughout a narrative spiraling toward tragedy, Niru’s pain is so palpable it will make you gasp. Highly recommended.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Portraying cross-generational and -cultural misunderstandings with anything but simplicity, Iweala tells an essential American story.” Booklist (starred review)
“Staggering…This novel is notable both for the raw force of Iweala’s prose and the moving, powerful story.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Speak No Evil is the rarest of novels: the one you start out just to read, then end up sinking so deeply into it, seeing yourself so clearly in it, that the novel starts reading you.” Marlon James, author of The Book of Night Women
“A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Iweala’s characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction.” Larissa Macfarquhar, author of Strangers Drowning

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Uzodinma Iweala

Author Bio: Uzodinma Iweala

Uzodinma Iweala is a writer whose work has won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the New York Public Library Young Lions Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, and the Sue Kauf-man Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters for Beasts of No Nation. He is also the author of Our Kind of People, a work of nonfiction. He was selected as one of Granta’s Best Young American Novelists and is aA graduate of Harvard University and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 6.35
Audience: Adult
Language: English