I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O’Farrell audiobook

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death

By Maggie O’Farrell
Read by Daisy Donovan

Random House Audio
5.91 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780525588801

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

"I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O’Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book." —Ann Patchett An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking. We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death. I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A #1 Sunday Times (London) bestseller

A London Guardian Pick

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

An Amazon Best Book of the Month selection

A Paste Magazine Pick

On the ALA Listen List for Outstanding Audiobook Narration

Among longlisted titles for Wellcome Trust Book Prize, 2018

"I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O’Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book." —Ann Patchett An extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking. We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death. I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrated by the talented Daisy Donovan. Her tone of voice exudes a veneer of vulnerability overlaying a steely strength, and her delivery is ideal for this collection of interconnected remembrances…Donovan’s pacing and appealing accent make the vignettes come alive for the listener…Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Maggie O’Farrell

Author Bio: Maggie O’Farrell

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of several novels, including her debut novel, After You’d Gone, which won a Betty Trask Award; The Distance between US, winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; and The Hand That First Held Mine, winner of the Costa Novel Award. She has worked as the deputy literary editor of the London Independent on Sunday.

Titles by Author

See All

Author Bio: Maggie O'Farrell

Author Bio: Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of several acclaimed books, including the New York Times bestseller Hamnet, winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction and named a best book of the year by the New York Times, BookPage, and more. Her other books include After You’d Gone, winner of the Betty Trask Award; My Lover’s Lover; The Distance between Us, recipient of a Somerset Maugham Award; The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox; The Hand That First Held Mine; Instructions for a Heatwave, winner of a Costa Book Award; This Must Be the Place; and I Am, I Am, I Am. She was born in Northern Ireland and grew up in Wales and Scotland and now lives in London. She has worked as a waitress, chambermaid, bike messenger, teacher, arts administrator, journalist in Hong Kong and London, and as the deputy literary editor of the London Independent on Sunday.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography
Runtime: 5.91
Audience: Adult
Language: English