Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell audiobook

Fangirl

By Rainbow Rowell
Read by Rebecca Lowman and Maxwell Caulfield

Listening Library, Listening Library (Audio)
12.83 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780804121293

In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving. Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to. Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone. For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? Open her heart to someone? Or will she just go on living inside somebody else’s fiction?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A 2013 Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist for YA Literature

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book for Children for 2013

Selected for the Autumn 2013 Kids' Indie Next List: Top 10

Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award, September 2013

An AudioFile Editors’ Pick, September 2013

A Publishers Weekly bestseller

A 2013 Amazon Best Books of the Year for Teen & YA

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

A September 2013 LibraryReads Pick

A 2014 LibraryReads Favorites of the Favorites selection

In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? Open her heart to someone? Or will she just go on living inside somebody else’s fiction?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An immensely satisfying coming-of-age novel, Fangirl deftly captures the experience of discovering your true voice and clumsy, vulnerable, remarkable, first love.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“A funny and tender coming-of-age story that’s also the story of a writer finding her voice…Touching and utterly real.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“The magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell’s incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling, and triumphant relationships...Fans of Eleanor & Park and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own.” Booklist (starred review)
“A charming coming-of-age novel...filled with complex subjects (such as divorce, abandonment, and mental illness) handled in a realistic manner, and the writing effortlessly and seamlessly weaves these threads together.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Absolutely captivating.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rainbow Rowell

Author Bio: Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell earned a journalism degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and, shortly thereafter, became the youngest-ever columnist at the Omaha World-Herald. She has two sons and lives with her family in Omaha, Nebraska.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 12.83
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English