The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenoff audiobook

The Orphan’s Tale

By Pam Jenoff
Read by Jennifer Wydra  and Kyla Garcia

MIRA, Harlequin Audio 9780778319818
12.88 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $27.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781488202551

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470828721

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470828745

Look out for Pam’s new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II—coming soon! A New York Times bestseller! “Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal “Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Look out for Pam’s new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II—coming soon!

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Deftly juggling secrets, lies, treachery, and passion, Pam Jenoff vividly brings to life the agonizing choices and life-or-death consequences for a hardy band of travelers under Nazi occupation.” Christina Baker Kline, New York Times bestselling author
“A gripping story about the power of friendship to save and redeem even in the darkest of circumstances…sheds light on one of the most colorful and inspiring stories of heroism in Nazi Germany.” Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author
“In prose that is beautiful, ethereal, and poignant, The Orphan’s Tale is a novel you won’t be able to put down.” Bustle
“Jenoff expertly performs a pirouetting tale worthy of a standing ovation…The Orphan’s Tale proves that the human spirit defies hate, fear, and gravity with a triumphant ta-da!” Sarah McCoy, New York Times bestselling author
“The busy plot with its combination of circus life and wartime peril will keep Jenoff’s fans intrigued.” Booklist
“Against the backdrop of circus life during the war, the author captures the very real terrors faced by both women as they navigate their working and personal relationships and their complicated love lives while striving for normalcy and keeping their secrets safe.” Publishers Weekly
“Blending the finest elements of a circus novel with the tension of a WWII thriller, Jenoff has crafted a non-stop read where fact and fiction merge. Jenoff’s descriptions of the circus life and the harrowing, terrifying dangers of the war are realistic and compelling. The tension feels authentic and the characters genuine, turning this gripping story into one not easily forgotten.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Pam Jenoff

Author Bio: Pam Jenoff

Pam Jenoff is the author of several novels, including the international bestseller The Kommandant’s Girl, which also earned her a Quill Award nomination. In addition to writing, she teaches law school at Rutgers University.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 12.88
Audience: Adult
Language: English