Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper audiobook

Out of My Mind

By Sharon M. Draper
Read by Sisi Aisha Johnson

Simon & Schuster Audio
6.82 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781508222460

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781508229414

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks. Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list! “If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post “A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review) “Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Uplifting…This moving novel will makes activists of us all.” —Booklist (starred review) From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder. Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it…somehow.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Bestseller

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016

A Capitol Choices: Noteworthy Book for Children and Teens

A Parents' Choice Award Silver Medalist

Winner of the 2012 Beehive Award for Fiction

Winner of the California Young Reader Medal

Winner of the 2012 Young Hoosier Book Award

Winner of the Flicker Tale Children’s Book Award for 2013

Winner of the 2014 Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award

Finalist for the Indies Choice Award for Young Adult Fiction

Second Place Winner for the Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award

Nominee for the Nene Award for Children's Fiction

Nominated for the 2013 Sequoyah Book Award

Nominated for the 2012 Texas Bluebonnet Award

Nominee for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

“If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post
“A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Uplifting…This moving novel will makes activists of us all.” —Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it…somehow.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This powerful story…offers a wrenching insight into so many vital lives that the able-bodied overlook.” Denver Post
“Melody discovers that her inner strength and intelligence are more reliable than most of the humans around her. She becomes an activist for herself.” Columbus Dispatch
“This long-overdue audio narration of Draper’s 2010 middle grade novel is a breakout performance for voice actress Johnson, who skillfully brings together childlike sensitivity and grown-up gravitas as she gives life to Draper’s character Melody Brooks…Older children and their parents will enjoy the way Johnson brings life to this unforgettable character.” Publishers Weekly (starred audio review)
“Kids will benefit from being introduced to Melody and her gutsy, candid, and compelling story.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“The authenticity of the story is obvious…This highly readable, compelling novel quickly establishes [Melody’s] determination and intelligence and the almost insurmountable challenges she faces…For upper-elementary students yet also a story that will enlighten and resonate with teens and adults.” Booklist (starred review)
“Narrator Sisi Aisha Johnson puts eleven-year-old Melody’s active mind and vivacious personality front and center…Johnson is expressive and works well with accents, creating distinct voices that round out the personalities that surround Melody…Particularly good for family listening.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sharon M. Draper

Author Bio: Sharon M. Draper

Sharon M. Draper is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels who has received the Coretta Scott King Award for both Copper Sun and Forged by Fire. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, where she taught high school English for twenty-five years and was named National Teacher of the Year. 

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.82
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English