The Postmortal by Drew Magary audiobook

The Postmortal: A Novel

By Drew Magary
Read by Johnny Heller

Tantor Audio 9780143119821
10.91 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.49
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781452675329

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $44.99

    ISBN: 9798200085903

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9798200085910

John Farrell is about to get "The Cure." Old age can never kill him now. The only problem is, everything else still can . . . Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and—after much political and moral debate—made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems—including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors. Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

John Farrell is about to get "The Cure." Old age can never kill him now. The only problem is, everything else still can . . . Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and—after much political and moral debate—made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems—including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors. Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a pre-apocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman Library Journal
“A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman.” Library Journal
“Magary’s relaxed, conversational style…and pragmatic assessment of the warty idiocy that is the most likely outcome of humanity figuring out how to immortalize itself make the premise remarkably easy to swallow.” Booklist
“Magary’s haunting first novel imagines a postmodern dystopia that would seem far-fetched if it didn’t seem so possible. The Postmortal will make you regret ever wondering, even secretly, what it would be like to live forever.” Stefan Fatsis, author of A Few Seconds of Panic
“A terrifyingly possible dystopian world…The book builds at a steady pace, from seemingly innocent days of ‘what if,’ to the nightmarish landscapes that emerge as humanity ages, yet never seems to learn from its own history. It’s a surprisingly scary—and funny—page-turner.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Drew Magary

Author Bio: Drew Magary

Drew Magary is an American columnist, interviewer, and author. A regular contributor for GQ magazine, he has also written for Deadspin, NBC, and Maxim and been published in Rolling Stone, New York, ESPN, Playboy, Atlantic, and Penthouse, among others. His novel The Postmortal was nominated for a Philip K. Dick Award in 2011, and The End Specialist was nominated for an Arthur C. Clarke Award.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.91
Audience: Adult
Language: English