Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill audiobook

Being Sloane Jacobs

By Lauren Morrill
Read by Shelby Lewis and Devon Sorvari

Listening Library
9.25 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780804123907

Switching places with someone else has never been more fun than in this novel about following your dreams and finding your heart from the author of Meant to Be --perfect for readers of Emery Lord and Morgan Matson! Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure skater who choked during junior nationals.  Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player who's been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. The two girls are on their way to skating camps in Montreal when a luggage mix-up causes them to meet. Pretty soon, the Sloanes realize that this is the opportunity they’ve been waiting for: the chance to escape their lives and switch places for the summer. But it didn't occur to Sloane E. that she might meet a hockey hottie; and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It's not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you're someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.  *** "A twist on the identity-swap that's both cozily familiar and fresh . . . . sweetly uplifting." --Publishers Weekly  "Enjoyable." --Kirkus Reviews “Sweet and satisfying.” --Booklist “Super cute, super hilarious and a totally fun read. I’m a big fan of the “two people switch places and fool everyone around them” plot line (see: The Parent Trap), and Being Sloane Jacobs pulled it off awesomely.” –HelloGiggles.com 

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Switching places with someone else has never been more fun than in this novel about following your dreams and finding your heart from the author of Meant to Be --perfect for readers of Emery Lord and Morgan Matson!

Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure skater who choked during junior nationals.  Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player who's been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. The two girls are on their way to skating camps in Montreal when a luggage mix-up causes them to meet. Pretty soon, the Sloanes realize that this is the opportunity they’ve been waiting for: the chance to escape their lives and switch places for the summer. But it didn't occur to Sloane E. that she might meet a hockey hottie; and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It's not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you're someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.  *** "A twist on the identity-swap that's both cozily familiar and fresh . . . . sweetly uplifting." --Publishers Weekly  "Enjoyable." --Kirkus Reviews “Sweet and satisfying.” --Booklist “Super cute, super hilarious and a totally fun read. I’m a big fan of the “two people switch places and fool everyone around them” plot line (see: The Parent Trap), and Being Sloane Jacobs pulled it off awesomely.” –HelloGiggles.com 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Morrill’s novel features two equally flawed and fascinating characters who happen to have very similar names: Sloane Emily Jacobs and Sloane Devon Jacobs. After a chance meeting in Canada, the two girls—one is a figure skater, the other is a hockey player—hatch a plan to trade places for the summer. Narrators Lewis and Sorvari each turn in a professional performance that ably captures the book’s characters and tone. Both readers provide narration that is well paced, smooth, and engaging. And, most importantly, in this story about switching places and mistaken identity, the readers make sure listeners are never confused about which character is which. This is a charming audio edition that will appeal to young listeners.” Publishers Weekly
“The two strong teens carry the text, providing an enjoyable, on-ice adventure. A thoughtful reminder that it is difficult to walk a mile in someone else’s shoes—or in this case, skates.” Kirkus Reviews
“Escaping from your own life and fitting perfectly—and hilariously imperfectly—into someone else’s? Who doesn’t fantasize about that? Morrill nails this unforgettable story full of twists and romance.” Huntley Fitzpatrick, author of My Life Next Door

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lauren Morrill

Author Bio: Lauren Morrill

Lauren Morrill grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not so) proud member of the marching band, and a trouble-making editor for the school newspaper. She graduated from Indiana University with a major in history and a minor in rock & roll, and now lives in Boston with her husband and their dog, Lucy. When she’s not writing, she spends a lot of hours getting knocked around as a member of the Boston Derby Dames, a roller derby league. Meant to Be is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.25
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English