Becoming Kid Quixote by Sarah Sierra audiobook

Becoming Kid Quixote: A True Story of Belonging in America

By Sarah Sierra  and Stephen Haff
Read by Kyla Garcia

HarperCollins 9780062934062
3.47 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $15.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062966407

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $22.99

    ISBN: 9781094026268

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781094026275

A young readers’ companion to the adult memoir Kid Quixotes by Stephen Haff. Narrated by one extraordinary ten-year-old girl, this inspiring memoir tells the story of a daughter of Mexican American immigrants who finds her voice through the power of words and performance of Cervantes’ Don Quixote. When a shy girl named Sarah Sierra first joins an after-school program in her neighborhood, she never expects to travel back in time and discover the words of Miguel de Cervantes. But at Still Waters in a Storm, a teacher named Stephen and a group of kids have pushed together tables piled high with books so they can gather round to talk about and translate Cervantes’ classic, Don Quixote de La Mancha. They begin to reimagine Don Quixote—the story of an idealistic dreamer from Spain who traveled around trying to right the world’s wrongs—as the story of a group of modern-day kids from immigrant families in Brooklyn. The stories the kids write in class become a musical play—expressing the plight of today’s immigrants and using Quixote as inspiration. And Sarah, once very shy, soon will play the leading role as Kid Quixote. Perfect for fans of I Am Malala, Dear America, and The Freedom Writers Diary, this stirring true story will inspire you to imagine, to speak up, and to sing out.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A young readers’ companion to the adult memoir Kid Quixotes by Stephen Haff.

Narrated by one extraordinary ten-year-old girl, this inspiring memoir tells the story of a daughter of Mexican American immigrants who finds her voice through the power of words and performance of Cervantes’ Don Quixote.

When a shy girl named Sarah Sierra first joins an after-school program in her neighborhood, she never expects to travel back in time and discover the words of Miguel de Cervantes. But at Still Waters in a Storm, a teacher named Stephen and a group of kids have pushed together tables piled high with books so they can gather round to talk about and translate Cervantes’ classic, Don Quixote de La Mancha.

They begin to reimagine Don Quixote—the story of an idealistic dreamer from Spain who traveled around trying to right the world’s wrongs—as the story of a group of modern-day kids from immigrant families in Brooklyn.

The stories the kids write in class become a musical play—expressing the plight of today’s immigrants and using Quixote as inspiration. And Sarah, once very shy, soon will play the leading role as Kid Quixote.

Perfect for fans of I Am MalalaDear America, and The Freedom Writers Diary, this stirring true story will inspire you to imagine, to speak up, and to sing out.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sarah Sierra

Author Bio: Sarah Sierra

Sarah Sierra is a student, writer, and actor. In 2015, at the age of six, she joined an after-school program called Still Waters in a Storm. Sarah has been a founding member of the Kid Quixotes since 2016.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Stephen Haff

Author Bio: Stephen Haff

Stephen Haff is the founder and director of Still Waters in a Storm, a one-room schoolhouse for Hispanic and immigrant children in Brooklyn, New York. He has taught English, mathematics, and theater at universities, including the City University of New York, high schools, middle schools, and elementary schools across North America for nearly three decades.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 3.47
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English